MillerKnoll-Anwenderbericht – Hero-Banner
Kundenreferenz

Von Konzepten zur Problemlösung zu problemlösenden Analysen bei MillerKnoll

MillerKnoll hat eine End-to-End-Architektur zur Analyse unterschiedlicher Daten und ein Kompetenzzentrum (Center of Excellence, COE) für die Weiterbildung von Mitarbeitenden eingerichtet. Das hat zu jährlichen Kosteneinsparungen für das Unternehmen in Höhe von 300.000 US-Dollar geführt.

MillerKnoll-Anwenderbericht – Hero-Banner

MillerKnoll – Kennzahlen

Branche: Fertigung, Einzelhandel
Bereich: Lieferkette, Vertrieb Region: Global
Region: weltweit

Jährliche Kosteneinsparungen

Vertriebsstunden durch Automatisierung gespart

Beschäftigte in sechs Geschäftsfeldern weitergebildet

Eine Lösung für Geschäftsprobleme, die bisher nicht lösbar waren

Jeden Tag lernt man etwas Neues. So sagt man doch, oder? Wussten Sie, dass MillerKnoll die berühmten Cubicle – die Arbeitsnischen im Großraumbüro – erfunden hat? Diesen Fakt können sie gerne bei der nächsten Veranstaltung erwähnen. Aber es war nicht nur die Arbeitsnische. MillerKnoll entwickelt seit 108 Jahren „Problemlösungskonzepte, die ebenso schön wie nützlich sind“. Wir lieben dieses Wertversprechen. Haben Sie schon einmal einen wunderschön gestalteten Workflow entwickelt? Einige davon möchte man direkt einrahmen, da sie so viele Erkenntnisse bringen. MillerKnoll mit Hauptsitz in Zeeland, Michigan, verfügt über Produktionsstätten in den USA, China, Italien und Großbritannien und bedient Kunden in über 100 Ländern. Als Designer des Bürostuhls „Aeron“ und des Klubsessels „Eames“ kennt man sich bei MillerKnoll mit Innovation gut aus. Aus diesem Grund wandte sich das Team an Alteryx, als es eine Plattform benötigte, die es bei der effizienten und skalierbaren Erfassung, Bereinigung, Zusammenführung und Analyse von Daten über mehrere, unterschiedliche Quellen und Systeme hinweg unterstützen sollte.

Nachdem Allison Lucas, Manager of Global Operations, Business Intelligence, durch einen Kollegen auf Alteryx aufmerksam gemacht wurde, machte sie sich daran, ein Pilotprogramm bei MillerKnoll zu starten. Nachdem sie einen Workflow erstellt hatte, der ihr  pro Monatacht Stunden Zeit einsparte, begann sie, ihren Kolleginnen und Kollegen die möglichen Anwendungsfälle mit Alteryx in den Bereichen Supply Chain, Vertrieb, Marketing und Finanzen vorzustellen. Das Team rekrutierte 70 Beschäftigte im gesamten Unternehmen MillerKnoll, um in einem dreimonatigen Pilotprojekt ein internes Kompetenzzentrum zu errichten.

Dank der Vielseitigkeit und umfangreichen Funktionen von Alteryx können Programmierer:innen, IT-Analystinnen und -Analysten, Statistiker:innen und Data Scientists Hand in Hand mit Laien-Data Scientists zusammenarbeiten.

Die vier Säulen des Werts

Nachdem das Team von MillerKnoll mehrere Geschäftsbereiche eingebunden und eine erfolgreiche Pilotphase von drei Monaten erlebt hatte, war man sich sicher, dass die Zeit reif war für eine Investition. Das Team wandte sich mit einem erfolgversprechenden Geschäftsmodell, das auf vier Säulen basiert, an die Geschäftsführung:

  1. Reduzierung manueller Prozesse
  2. Solving the previously impossible
  3. Building a foundation of data integrity
  4. Cost-savings

During the pilot period, one workflow stood out to be especially valuable, allowing the MillerKnoll team to realize $60,000 in cost of goods savings after just 1 run. This output allowed the supply chain team to realize up to $300,000 dollars in savings running over a 1-year period. What seemed impossible before, became a breakthrough with Alteryx. MillerKnoll was now able to identify opportunities at distribution centers which allowed for optimization of their warehouses and better inventory management. Data from their key products was now contextually relevant which when input into their manufacturing system applications, improved efficiency, material flow and WIP inventory management. The enterprise realized value in other areas of the business such as audit and sales.

Während der Pilotphase stach ein Workflow besonders einträglich hervor, sodass das Team von MillerKnoll nach nur einem Durchlauf 60.000 USD an Warenkosteneinsparungen erzielen konnte. Dieser Output ermöglichte dem Supply-Chain-Team bis zu 300.000 USD an Einsparungen über einen Zeitraum von einem Jahr. Was zuvor unmöglich schien, wurde mit Alteryx zu einem Durchbruch. MillerKnoll konnte jetzt Möglichkeiten in Vertriebszentren identifizieren, die eine Optimierung der Lager und ein besseres Bestandsmanagement ermöglichten. Die Daten aus ihren wichtigsten Produkten waren jetzt kontextbezogen relevant, was bei der Eingabe in ihre Fertigungssystemanwendungen zu einer verbesserten Effizienz, einem verbesserten Materialfluss und einer verbesserten Verwaltung des WIP-Bestands führte. Das Unternehmen realisierte auch Werte in anderen Geschäftsbereichen wie Audit und Vertrieb.

Den Vertrieb mit automatisierten Analysen ausrüsten

Die Vertriebsmitarbeitenden von MillerKnoll erlebten ein allzu häufiges Problem: Fristen und Marktanforderungen zu verwalten und sicherzustellen, dass ihre Ziele erreicht wurden, während sie mit einer Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Daten hantierten, um die Kundenbedürfnisse und ihre eigene Leistung zu erfassen. Um dieses Problem zu lösen, halfen Dipti Grove, Manager of Business Intelligence, und Rachelle Pike, Manager Analytics and Reporting, bei der Entwicklung einer End-to-End-Analysearchitektur.

Die Vertriebsmitarbeitenden von MillerKnoll wollten den Auftragsbestand vollständig verstehen, um die Kundenzufriedenheit zu verbessern, die Prozessgeschwindigkeit verstehen, um zu ermitteln, ob Chancen stagniert hatten, und wissen, wo sie prozentual lagen, um für das Jahr zu planen und das Unternehmenswachstum zu fördern. Das Analyseteam schloss sich zusammen, um eine moderne Dateninfrastruktur zu schaffen, die aus Snowflake, Alteryx und Tableau als Hauptakteuren im Stack besteht. Snowflake ermöglichte es dem Team, Daten einheitlich in einem Data Lake zu sammeln und zu speichern.

Mit Snowflake können wir Daten jeder Größe hinzufügen und vor allem die Skalierbarkeit sicherstellen, wenn unser Data Lake im Laufe der Zeit wächst.

Vom Pilotprojekt zum modernen Technologiepaket

Durch die Zusammenarbeit mit Alteryx und Snowflake über ODBC kann das Team seine Workflows und die Cloud Computing-Funktionen von Snowflake über die In-DB-Tools von Alteryx nutzen. Damit verbleiben die Daten immer bei Snowflake und das Team profitiert von der vollständigen Automatisierung. Durch Kombination von Echtzeit-Cloud-Daten von Snowflake mit Machine Learning-Technologien von Alteryx konnte das Team von MillerKnoll individuelle Daten über Tableau zum Leben erwecken. Die wichtigsten Stakeholder zu verstehen, ist dabei von entscheidender Bedeutung. Deshalb integrierte das Team von MillerKnoll Salesforce in Tableau, sodass Salesforce Zugriff auf individuelle Datasets hat, die dem Unternehmen die Informationen und Metriken liefern, die sich auf ihre tägliche Arbeit auswirken.

Allison Lucas
Manager of Global Operations, Business Intelligence,
MillerKnoll

Dipti Grove
Manager of Business Intelligence,
MillerKnoll
MillerKnoll

Miller Knoll Case Study Hero Banner
Customer Story

From problem-solving designs to problem-solving analytics at MillerKnoll

MillerKnoll established an end-to-end analytics architecture to analyze disparate data, and a COE for workforce upskilling—making $300k in annual cost-of-good savings.

Miller Knoll Case Study Hero Banner

MillerKnoll Key Stats

Industry: Manufacturing, Retail
Department: Supply Chain, Sales
Region: Global

annualized cost-of-goods savings

sales hours saved through automation

Employees upskilled across 6 business lines

Uncovering a solution for business problems that were previously unsolvable

You learn something new every day, or so the saying goes right? Well, did you know MillerKnoll invented the cubicle? We’ll take credit for when you drop that one at the next social gathering. It’s not just the cubicle though, MillerKnoll has been innovating and creating “problem-solving designs that are as beautiful as they are useful” for 108 years. We love that value proposition, have you ever created a beautifully crafted workflow? Some of them are frame worthy as they are insights drivers. Headquartered in Zeeland, Michigan, MillerKnoll has manufacturing facilities in the US, China, Italy and the UK, and serve customers in over 100 countries. Designers of the Aeron office chair and Eames lounge chair, MillerKnoll is no stranger to innovation, which is why the team turned to Alteryx when they needed a platform to help them solve the issue of gathering, cleansing, merging & analyzing data across multiple, disparate sources and systems in a streamlined and scalable fashion.

After being introduced to Alteryx via a colleague, Allison Lucas, Manager of Global Operations, Business Intelligence, got to work launching a pilot program across MillerKnoll. After creating one workflow which saved her 8 hours a month, Allison took the Alteryx show on the road demonstrating the possible use cases across supply chain, sales & marketing & finance. Recruiting 70 MillerKnoll teammates across the enterprise and setting up a 3- month pilot, the team built an internal COE.

Alteryx’s versatility and rich functionality allows programmers, IT analysts, statisticians, data scientists to work in tandem with citizen data scientists.

The 4 pillars of value

After engaging multiple lines of business and experiencing a successful 3-month pilot period, the MillerKnoll team knew it was time to make an investment. They approached leadership with a value-added business model outlined by 4 pillars:

  1. Reducing manual processes
  2. Solving the previously impossible
  3. Building a foundation of data integrity
  4. Cost-savings

During the pilot period, one workflow stood out to be especially valuable, allowing the MillerKnoll team to realize $60,000 in cost of goods savings after just 1 run. This output allowed the supply chain team to realize up to $300,000 dollars in savings running over a 1-year period. What seemed impossible before, became a breakthrough with Alteryx. MillerKnoll was now able to identify opportunities at distribution centers which allowed for optimization of their warehouses and better inventory management. Data from their key products was now contextually relevant which when input into their manufacturing system applications, improved efficiency, material flow and WIP inventory management. The enterprise realized value in other areas of the business such as audit and sales.

Arming the sales force with automated analytics

The MillerKnoll sales force experienced an all-too-common pain point; managing deadlines, market demands, and ensuring their goals were met while navigating a sea of disparate data to understand their client needs as well as their own performance. To alleviate this issue, Dipti Grove, Manager of Business Intelligence and Rachelle Pike, Manager, Analytics and Reporting helped establish an end-to-end analytics architecture.

The MillerKnoll sales force wanted to fully understand order backlog in order to provide better client satisfaction, funnel speed to understand if any opportunities had become stagnant, and where they stood in percentage to plan for the year to drive company growth. The analytics team banded together to create a modern data infrastructure composed of Snowflake, Alteryx and Tableau as key players in the stack. Snowflake allowed the team to uniformly gather and house data into one data lake.

Snowflake lets us add any size data and more importantly ensures scalability as our data lake grows over time

From pilot to modern technology stack

Working with Alteryx and Snowflake via ODBC, the team is able to leverage their workflows and take advantage of Snowflake’s cloud-computing capabilities by way of Alteryx’s InDB tools. Data never leaves Snowflake and the team gains the advantages of full automation. Combining Snowflake’s real-time cloud data with Alteryx’s machine learning allowed the MillerKnoll team to bring individualized data to life via Tableau. Understanding key stakeholders is key, so the MillerKnoll team uniquely embedded Salesforce into Tableau, enabling the salesforce to have access to individualized data sets, which provide them with the information and metrics that impact their daily work.

Allison Lucas
Manager of Global Operations, Business Intelligence,
MillerKnoll

Dipti Grove
Manager of Business Intelligence,
MillerKnoll
Armor Express Customer Story Mobile
Customer Story
4 min to read

Armor Express Uses Predictive Supply Chain Analytics to Help Protect More Lives

Armor Express took predictive modeling to the next level with real-time data feeds that inform supply chains—saving $500k through inventory optimization.

Supply Chain
Data Science & Machine Learning
Manufacturing
Read Now
McLaren Race Car
Customer Story
7 min to read

McLaren Racing fast tracks data analytics in the race to accelerate

McLaren Formula 1 team consolidates 11.8 billion data-points to maximize race performance.

Supply Chain
Analytics Leader
BI/Analytics/Data Science
Read Now
Takenaka logo atop photo of modern building
Customer Story
8 min to read

Applying Data Accumulated Over 300 Years to Next-Gen Architectural Design

Turning information that had long been stored and stocked into usable data conveying people's thoughts and feelings, Alteryx serves as a modern carpenter's toolbox...

Data Prep & Analytics
Manufacturing
Alteryx Designer
Read Now

Transform Your Analytics

Get ready to unlock hidden insights in your data.