image
Global Chemical

GC optimise ses données grâce à Alteryx Analytics Automation

Statistiques clés sur Global Chemical

Industrie : Chimie
Service : Opérations
Région : Asie-Pacifique

Augmentation de la durée de vie des catalyseurs chimiques, jusqu'à 40 %

Augmentation du chiffre d'affaires grâce à l'analyse prédictive

increase in efficiency

Calculate Your ROI

Alteryx permet de se fier aux données plutôt qu'à l'intuition  

Connue comme étant la plus grande entreprise pétrochimique de Thaïlande et la troisième d'Asie, GC déploie des activités pétrochimiques diversifiées et complètes, dont la production et la distribution de produits pétrochimiques en amont, intermédiaires et en aval. Ces produits peuvent être convertis en d'autres produits chimiques et servir de base pour les secteurs de l'aval pétrolier tels que l'emballage, l'habillement, les équipements de communication et électroniques, les appareils électriques, les véhicules, les matériaux de construction, les plastiques pour l'ingénierie, le matériel agricole, et bien d'autres. Ces produits ne font pas seulement partie de notre quotidien, ils améliorent également nos vies.

En privilégiant l'innovation et la technologie, GC a compris qu'il fallait s'appuyer davantage sur les données. Les ingénieurs et les usines chimiques représentant 70 % de l'activité, c'est au niveau des opérations des usines que les responsables de l'analytique et des données ont assisté aux prémices d'une transformation.

Contrairement à ce qui se passe lors d'une réaction chimique, où les événements s'enchaînent à la manière d'une rangée de dominos tombant les uns après les autres, les ingénieurs se sont appuyés sur une combinaison de données provenant de différents fournisseurs qui, par nature, contenaient des variables complexes.

GC s'est concentré sur les trois dimensions suivantes dans sa transformation digitale :

  1. Transformation de l'entreprise : approche visant à améliorer les performances des business units en intégrant la stratégie digitale à l'action. Prise en compte des leviers d'impact, tels que l'analytique avancée pour l'optimisation des activités commerciales, opérationnelles et de planification ; automatisation des processus à grande échelle et digitalisation, sous la forme de « cas d'usage digitaux »
  2. Transformation technologique : exploitation de l'infrastructure IT pour tirer le meilleur parti des nouvelles technologies en matière de performances, avec une accélération mesurable de la croissance, de la productivité et de rentabilité du capital
  3. Transformation des équipes et amélioration des compétences : les principaux moteurs de la réussite digitale sont les collaborateurs, c'est pourquoi GC se focalise sur le développement des compétences et de l'état d'esprit de son personnel pour se préparer à la révolution digitale

Raisons pour lesquelles GC a choisi Alteryx :

image

01

Mise à disposition des outils nécessaires aux employés pour exploiter les données grâce à la démocratisation
image

02

Possibilité d'actualiser les processus manuels grâce à l'automatisation
image

03

Amélioration de la prise de décision grâce à des insights plus rapides et à un niveau d'analyse plus élevé

We wanted to be a solely data-driven organization and move away from making ‘gut feeling’ decisions. We looked to Alteryx for the right tools and expertise.

Changer le statu quo

Pour qu'une réaction chimique se produise à grande vitesse et à grande échelle dans un environnement contrôlé, un catalyseur est souvent nécessaire dans la formule. Les catalyseurs ont également la caractéristique unique de provoquer une réaction chimique différente. Pour changer le statu quo, l'équipe de GC voulait abandonner ses méthodes de travail.  

« Nous avons souvent changé nos catalyseurs chimiques à des intervalles connus, parce que c'est ce que nous avons toujours fait », déclare Chatsuda Kanjanarat, SVP Transformation Excellence, GC. « Nous nous sommes tournés vers Alteryx pour obtenir les outils et l'expertise nécessaires pour changer ces habitudes. »

Alteryx a servi de catalyseur de changement chez GC, en commençant par son équipe d'ingénieurs, c'est-à-dire 70 % de l'ensemble de l'entreprise. À mesure qu'ils ont commencé à utiliser Alteryx, ils ont cherché une solution à la tâche ardue que représentent l'entretien et le remplacement des catalyseurs tous les cinq ans. Grâce aux données recueillies et à leur analyse dans Alteryx, les ingénieurs de GC ont découvert qu'ils pouvaient prolonger la durée de vie de leurs catalyseurs jusqu'à 40 %. Cela leur permet d'économiser efficacement les ressources de l'entreprise tout en obtenant des produits de grande qualité.


« Créer une meilleure chimie »

Après avoir travaillé avec la solution d'automatisation Alteryx pendant plus d'un an, l'équipe d'ingénieurs de GC a commencé à exploiter les insights fournis par Alteryx pour en faire profiter toute l'entreprise. La production d'oléfines et de phénols, domaine d'expertise de GC, nécessite de grandes quantités de matières premières chimiques. Parmi elles figurent des matériaux en pétrole brut, non traité. Grâce au savoir-faire qu'ils ont acquis toute l'année et à la suite d'outils prédictifs d'Alteryx, les ingénieurs ont pu prédire leur production chimique, mieux connue sous le nom de « rendement » dans la communauté scientifique, pour prendre de meilleures décisions concernant l'achat de matières premières.

Le processus se déroulait comme suit : exploiter les données de vente, de production, de tarification et de conditions des usines issues de systèmes disparates, tels que les systèmes CRM et ERP, pour créer un algorithme plus performant et convivial, permettant l'acquisition et la mise à niveau des compétences analytiques avancées, ainsi que la fourniture d'insights plus complets. L'objectif était de créer un modèle pour prédire le prix du phénol, un composé organique utilisé comme intermédiaire pour la synthèse industrielle. L'équipe s'est engagée sur une période de démonstration de faisabilité d'un an comprenant les étapes suivantes :

  • Formation sur les données
  • Validation
  • Tests

En exploitant 19 paramètres globaux, l'équipe est passée d'un modèle de régression linéaire basé sur Python à un modèle de forêts aléatoires piloté par Alteryx. Ce dernier lui permet d'exploiter jusqu'à 50 paramètres avec un intervalle de confiance élevé supérieur à 0,95 et un taux d'erreur de 2,6 %.

Avant Alteryx, l'entreprise achetait la matière première quand elle en avait besoin, et non de manière stratégique. L'équipe sait désormais à quel moment il est préférable d'acheter des matières premières et en quelle quantité, prédire le rendement et générer de la valeur pour l'entreprise, d'une manière innovante et respectueuse de l'environnement. Ce nouveau processus a permis aux entreprises de production de phénol de faire des bénéfices de 1,5 million de dollars.


Alteryx makes predictive analytics and the use of machine learning more accessible and agile by switching between many different methods and algorithms with a simple switch icon. You can do this directly on the platform instead of spending time coding an algorithm that does it.”

L'équipe de GC a envie d'innover dans la production de méthanol et de propane, d'étendre l'empreinte d'Alteryx à ses différentes fonctions et de lancer officiellement le modèle prédictif de phénol en septembre 2021. L'objectif de GC consiste toujours à favoriser une culture holistique axée sur les données, et l'équipe prévoit de continuer à améliorer les compétences de ses ingénieurs en organisant des « journées data » et des « cas d'usage data ».
Dark background blue dots of lights in varying shades
Article de blog
5 min to read

Leveraging Alteryx for a Successful Job Search

Learn how Mike Davis' experience with Alteryx put him ahead of the competition.

Analyste
Alteryx Designer
Préparation et analytique des données
Lisez vite !
Red roller coaster shooting upwards
Article de blog
8 min to read

Accelerate Digital Transformation with Automated Analytics

Automated analytics is the fuel for your organization’s growth, keeping it relevant, agile, and one step ahead of your competitors.

Responsable Analytique
Responsable Business
Alteryx Machine Learning
Lisez vite !
Livre blanc
Rapport

Study: IDC's Worldwide Digital Transformation Use Case Taxonomy

Check out the study, IDC’s Worldwide Digital Transformation Use Case Taxonomy, 2021: Finance, for the seven primary finance segments and 30+ use cases to target for digital transformation.

Transformez vos capacités analytiques

Préparez-vous à déceler les insights qui se cachent dans vos données.

Essai gratuit

abstract image
Global Chemical

GC Optimizes Data with Alteryx Analytics Automation

abstract image

Global Chemical Key Stats

Industry: Chemicals
Department: Operations
Region: Asia-Pacific

Improved chemical catalyst lifespan up to 40%

increase in revenue via predictive analytics

increase in efficiency

Calculate Your ROI

Leveraging Alteryx to go from “Gut Feeling” to Data-Driven 

As the largest petrochemical company in Thailand and third largest in Asia, GC is comprised of diversified and comprehensive petrochemical businesses, including manufacturing and distribution of upstream, intermediate, and downstream petrochemical products. These products can be converted into other chemical products and serve as basic feedstock for downstream industries such as packaging, apparel, communications and electronic equipment, electrical appliances, vehicles, construction materials, engineering-based plastics, agricultural equipment, and much more. These products are not only part of our everyday lives – they also improve the way people live.

With a constant focus on innovation and technology, GC realized the need to shift to a more data-driven organization. With 70% of the business being focused on engineers and chemical plants, data and analytics leaders saw the starting blocks of a transformation within plant operations.

Unlike a chemical reaction which typically behaves like a line of falling dominoes, engineers relied on piecing together data from different suppliers which inherently carried complex variables.

GC focused on the following three dimensions in its digital transformation:

  1. Business transformation: An approach to enhance business unit performance by embedding digital strategy into action. Addressing impact levers, such as advanced analytics for commercial, operational, and planning optimization; large-scale process automation, and digitization called “Digital Use Case”
  2. Technology transformation: Leveraged IT infrastructure to extract the performance potential from new technologies, with measurable acceleration of growth, productivity, and capital efficiency
  3. People transformation and upskilling: The key enablers of driving digital success  are people, and GC strongly focused on developing employee  skills and mindset for digital disruption readiness

We wanted to be a solely data-driven organization and move away from making ‘gut feeling’ decisions. We looked to Alteryx for the right tools and expertise.

Changing the Status Quo

For a chemical reaction to occur at speed and scale within a controlled environment, a catalyst is often introduced into the formula. Catalysts also have the unique characteristic of causing a chemical reaction to happen in a different way. When it came to changing the status quo, the team at GC wanted to move away from doing things the way they’ve always been done.  

“We often changed our chemical catalysts at known intervals, simply because that’s how we’ve always done it” said Chatsuda Kanjanarat, SVP Transformation Excellence, GC. “We looked to Alteryx for the tools and expertise to change that.”

Alteryx served as the catalyst for change at GC, starting with its team of engineers, who make up 70% of the entire organization. As they began leveraging Alteryx, they sought out a solution to the arduous task of maintaining and swapping catalysts every five years. By being able to gather the necessary data and analyze it in Alteryx, GC engineers discovered they could extend the life of their catalysts by up to 40%. The result of this discovery allows for GC engineers to effectively save business resources while still producing high quality products.


“Creating better chemistry”

After working with Alteryx automation for over a year, GC’s team of engineers have begun to leverage the insights powered by Alteryx to drive organization-wide advantages. Olefin and phenol production, GC’s area of expertise, require large amounts of chemical feedstock. Chemical feedstocks are raw, untreated petroleum oil materials. Using their learnings from over the year and Alteryx’s predictive suite of tools, engineers have been able to predict their chemical output, or “yield” as it is more commonly known in the scientific community, to make better feedstock purchasing decisions.

The process was as follows: Leverage sales, production, pricing data, and plant conditions from disparate systems like CRM’s and ERP’s to create a better algorithm that is user-friendly and allows for advanced analytics reskilling and upskilling, and provides deeper insights. The objective was to create a model to predict the price of phenol, which is an organic compound used as an intermediate for industrial synthesis. The team embarked on a year-long proof-of-concept period encompassing:

  • Data training
  • Validation
  • Testing

Leveraging 19 parameters overall, the team evolved from utilizing one Python-driven Linear Regression Model to building an Alteryx driven Random Forest model which allows them to leverage up to 50 parameters with a high confidence interval above 0.95 and an error rate of 2.6%.

Prior to Alteryx, feedstock was purchased when needed and not in a strategic manner. The team now knows when it is best to purchase feedstock and how much, predict their yield, and drive value back to the business while doing so in an innovative and environmentally friendly way. This new process has driven $1.5M to the phenol businesses’ bottom-line.


Alteryx makes predictive analytics and the use of machine learning more accessible and agile by switching between many different methods and algorithms with a simple switch icon. You can do this directly on the platform instead of spending time coding an algorithm that does it.”

The GC team is looking forward to making innovations in methanol and propane production, expanding the Alteryx footprint across its different functions, and officially launching the phenol predictive model in September 2021. Driving towards a holistic data-driven culture remains the goal at GC, and the team plans on continuing to upskill their engineers by holding “data days” and “data use case showcases.”
abstract image
Customer Story
5 min to read

Rebuilding multi year employee entitlement payments with Alteryx

Grant Thornton uncovered a need for payroll assurance services, so they created a flexible, scalable, and affordable model to accurately calculate employee leave entitlement.

Finance
Human Resources
Asia Pacific
Read Now
McLaren Race Car
Customer Story
5 min to read

McLaren Racing fast tracks data analytics in the race to accelerate

McLaren Formula 1 team consolidates 11.8 billion data-points to maximize race performance.

Supply Chain
Analytics Leader
BI/Analytics/Data Science
Read Now
Female scientist sitting in chair looking into microscope within a lab enviroment
Customer Story

Staying Afloat in the Sea of Research Metrics Data

Evaluation of academic research is often a sensitive and intricate subject. Previously, researchers and their work were assessed by rather simplistic means that could be biased, and consequently misinterpreted and misused.

Education
BI/Analytics/Data Science
Asia Pacific
Read Now

Transform Your Analytics

Get ready to unlock hidden insights in your data.